We are Okay

Often
I feel a sound thumping
in my ears and my heart.
It thumps loud enough
for the world to hear
for the universe to feel.
Blood pumps
through my veins,
waiting to gush
out of my ears.
Scenes run
in front of my eyes,
speeding past,
a montage of its kind.
A bullet train,
getting derailed,
crashing into a tree,
collapsing across,
the edge of a hill,
rolling and tumbling,
down the slopes,
vomiting its passengers,
out into the abyss,
luggage disassembling,
to bits and pieces,
and shreds and tatters,
and scraps.

But let us feign,
sham the world
into disbelief.

For we are okay,
aren’t we?

DSC03129

Leave a Reply

