Pi – Faith in Chaos by Darren Aronofsky

 

pi5

 

 

 

pi6

 

“There will be no order, only chaos.”

pi7

“Max Cohen: 9:13. Personal note. When I was a little kid, my mother told me not to stare into the sun. So once, when I was six, I did. The doctors didn’t know if my eyes would ever heal.I was terrified, alone in that darkness. Slowly, daylight crept in through the bandages and I could see. But something else had changed inside me.”

pi8 pi15

 “Maximillian Cohen: It was given to me. It’s inside of me. It’s changing me.
Ephraim: It’s killing you, because you are not ready to receive it”

“Sol Robeson: This is insanity, Max.
Maximillian Cohen: Or maybe it’s genius.”

pi2 pi9 pi10

“Sol Robeson: Hold on. You have to slow down. You’re losing it. You have to take a breath. Listen to yourself. You’re connecting a computer bug I had with a computer bug you might have had and some religious hogwash. You want to find the number 216 in the world, you will be able to find it everywhere. 216 steps from a mere street corner to your front door. 216 seconds you spend riding on the elevator. When your mind becomes obsessed with anything, you will filter everything else out and find that thing everywhere.”

pi11 pi13

 “Maximillian Cohen: 11:15, restate my assumptions: 1. Mathematics is the language of nature. 2. Everything around us can be represented and understood through numbers. 3. If you graph these numbers, patterns emerge. Therefore: There are patterns everywhere in nature.”

pi14

“Maximillian Cohen: 10:15, personal note: It’s fair to say I’m stepping out on a limb,
but I am on the edge and that’s where it happens.” 

“Maximillian Cohen: 10:28. Results: bullshit”

2 thoughts on “Pi – Faith in Chaos by Darren Aronofsky”

    1. It’s absolutely brilliant! Everything from the eerie soundtrack that keeps running in the background, to the grainy photographic scenes and the spectacular sets, in the shape of his chaotic apartment and that subway he hallucinates in. Everything compliments each other so perfectly. One of the best acting performances that I’ve happened to come across!

Leave a Reply

